Sedap

102 Old Street
London EC1V 9AY
020 7490 0200
http://www.sedap.co.uk/

Opening Hours
Lunch:
Monday to Friday 11.30-2.30pm
Dinner:
Monday to Sunday 5-10.30pm

We first heard about Sedap from our good friend I. Many food bloggers have also given positive reviews about this place, such as theboywhoatetheworld. So when I met up with my old friend Ch for lunch, I promptly suggested Sedap to him, and we went forth to try it out. 

Sedap is situated along Old Street. It is a short distance from Old Street tube station, and is not hard to find at all. The only problem is that the northern line is so complicated and troublesome, it’s quite a hassle to get to; and Ch happens to stay at Earl’s Court, so it was quite a journey for him to get to this side of London.

We reached the restaurant at about 1.30pm and there weren’t many people there for lunch. We were seated in a nice corner, and jumped straight into the menu. I always find it hilarious to look at the prices of the dishes in Singaporean-Malaysian restaurants in London. You get one portion of archard for £2.80, one small cup of teh tarik for £2.10, a plate of char kway teow for £6.95 etc. These prices are definitely reasonable for London standards, but I can’t help but compare them to the 20 cents archard, 80 cents teh bing and $2 char kway teow we get in our beloved kopitiams back home. Ah… how I miss home.

Anyway, I have been craving for Laksa for ages now, so that was the obvious choice for me. The laksa broth was good. It didn’t come with cockles as it usually does in Singapore (I’m allergic to them anyway), but it was still very flavourful. It tasted really decent, and almost like home, truly an achievement since other restaurants in London which attempt to serve Singaporean Laksa just get it so wrong. The spiciness was just right, but I wished there was some extra chilli on the side so that I could add it into my soup to give it that extra kick. The noodles weren’t very chewy though. They tasted like the ones from prima-taste, which are sold in spaghetti-like packets. That being said, I think that is probably due to the limitations of available ingredients in this country. I have never seen fresh white thick beehoon noodles sold in Chinatown or supermarts, so I guess that aspect can be forgiven.

Ch chose the Seafood char mee which was described in the menu to be ‘Stir fried yellow noodles with prawn, squid, fishcake, seafood stick and vegetables’. I thought that it sounded like the fried hokkien mee we get back home, but I was too optimistic. The dish had some good flavours though. Ch remarked that it was not bad, but not anywhere near mind-blowing.

I also had the teh tarik, which tasted quite good. But it came in a stingily small cup. For the price, this was not worth it at all.

Because K stayed at home to wait for QJ, I ordered the char kway teow take away for him. The char kway teow had some good charred flavour to it, and I’m sure K would want to make a trip down to try a hot version of it.

All in all, Ch and I had a good meal in Sedap, eating foods we’ve been craving for. The cooking is definitely not exactly the same as what we get back home, but for those who are in search of some comfort food regardless, Sedap is the place to go.

Food: 6.5/10
Service: 7/10

One response to “Sedap

  1. Good to know you’ve managed to stop by! You should give the Malay dishes a go next time. Their Beef Rendang, Assam fish and other Malay dishes are pretty good (arguably better than some of the Chinese-Malaysian dishes I reckon!)

Leave a Reply

